The Veggie Table: 8 Sneaky Foods Vegetarians Should Avoid

By: Janel Ovrut Funk

Red Wine Glass on White

Red Wine Glass on White [url=][img][/img][/url]

©Eric Hood

Eric Hood

Whether you're following a vegetarian diet or cooking for a veggie-inclined friend, it's a no-brainer that you want to stay away from foods that contain meat. But what about lesser-known animal ingredients? Many processed foods that seem veg-friendly may not be. Check out our list for foods you might not know about.

Worcestershire sauce – This sauce is usually used to spice up grilled or barbecued meats. But if you love a good Bloody Mary, it may be made with Worcestershire sauce, which includes anchovies in its ingredients. Fortunately, there are vegan versions out there, so grab a bottle and enjoy it on your veggie burgers, grilled tempeh, or in a homemade Bloody Mary.

Vegetable Pad Thai – This noodle dish is typically listed in the vegetarian section of Thai restaurant menus, but authentic Pad Thai is made with fish sauce. While a vegetarian sauce could be used, it’s in your best interest to double check before you place your order and wind up with something fishy.

Caesar dressing – This classic dressing is another anchovy-packed condiment that is typically used on a seemingly-vegetarian Caesar salad. Unless, of course, you find a tasty vegan or vegetarian version that satisfies your salad standards.

Refried beans –You probably know many  prepackaged refried beans are high in fat, but it’s actually animal lard that makes these beans bad for a vegetarian. There are many lard-free varieties out there. My favorite is Trader Joe’s Vegetarian Refried Black Beans (pictured).

Sweets made with gelatin – When I first went veg I knew that the animal ingredient gelatin was found in marshmallows and Jell-O, but after digging through ingredient lists, I found it is in other sweets, too. Some mint candy, yogurt, chewy fruit candy (like Skittles and Starburst). Gum with a hard shell contains gelatin, too.

Soy cheese – If you’re a vegetarian, you might still eat cheese and dairy products. But if you’re a vegan, you likely choose cheese alternatives, such as soy cheese. Many soy cheeses on the market contain the ingredient casein, which is a milk protein. Casein is used in cheese alternatives because it helps to bind and melt the cheese. There are casein-free options, like Teese Vegan Cheese that tastes great and melts, too!

Wine and beer - Not all wines and beers are made using animal products, but those that do might not list it on the label. No animal ingredients are present in the final beverage, but some beers and wines are refined using a product called isinglass, which comes from fish, or may be filtered with bone char. This handy guide will help you find vegan wine and beer. Cheers to that!

Gel-cap medications – Did you know that anything "gel-cap" contains gelatin? I sure didn’t. Look for non-gel-cap versions of the medication you’re prescribed and speak to your doctor if you have any concerns.

TELL US: Have you found any other vegetarian un-friendly foods that surprised you?

Janel Ovrut, MS RD LDN, loves experimenting with vegetarian and vegan cooking. Read her food blog, Eat Well with Janel, and follow her on Twitter @DietitianJanel. Catch up on her previous posts here.   Learn more about all our contributors »

Next Up

The Veggie Table: A Vegetarian Pregnancy

Throughout my pregnancy, one of the most popular questions I got was, "Are you still going to be vegetarian?"

The Veggie Table: Favorite Vegetarian Cookbooks

Registered dietitian Janel Ovrut shares her picks for top vegetarian cookbooks.

The Veggie Table: Vegetarian Lunch Ideas

As a vegetarian or vegan, you may think your lunch option is limited to plain peanut butter and jelly, but here are three ideas to change your mind.

The Veggie Table: Vegetarian Bagged Lunches

Here are some of my favorite veg lunches to try if you’re looking for new meat-free bagged lunch options to bring to work, or to pack for your kids as a new school year is upon us. Don’t forget to include an ice pack or frozen beverage to keep your lunch cool.

The Veggie Table: Vegetarian Grill Ideas

When the grill gets fired up, it's usually to cook meat, but there are plenty of veggie-friendly recipes to cook on the grill; even the meat-lovers would agree.

The Veggie Table: Vegetarian and Vegan Resolutions

Whether your New Year's resolutions was to adopt a vegetarian diet or you just want to eat more plant-based foods, here are four ways to help you eat more vegetables.

The Veggie Table: Favorite Vegan and Vegetarian Blogs

A round-up of Janel Ovrut Funk's favorite vegan and vegetarian food blogs.

The Veggie Table: Thanksgiving Tips for the Vegetarian

When you're the cook, you can make sure to serve options that fit your vegetarian diet, but if your host isn't serving a vegetarian Thanksgiving, don't despair. Here are some tips on how to navigate -- and still enjoy -- the feast.

The Veggie Table: Vegan Wedding

One vegan dietitian's story about choosing the right food for her big day.