kosher cheese


A product that is strictly controlled and produced under Kosher law (see kosher food), which means that the animal-derived rennet typically used for coagulation in the beginning stages of cheesemaking cannot be used because it conflicts with milk. Most kosher cheese producers use biotech microbial rennet, produced with kosher techniques and ingredients. Today there's a wide selection of kosher cheeses, which are clearly marked as such and can be found in supermarkets as well as specialty cheese stores. Kosher cheese is also known as gvinas Yisroel ("cheese made by a Jew").

From The Food Lover's Companion, Fourth edition by Sharon Tyler Herbst and Ron Herbst. Copyright © 2007, 2001, 1995, 1990 by Barron's Educational Series, Inc.

Keep Reading

Next Up

Cheese Basics

Learn about storing, buying and pairing cheese from the cheese experts at Sartori Cheese.

50 Grilled Cheese

Make a sandwich from Food Network Magazine for any meal of the day—even dessert!

Cheese Buying Tips

With hundreds of cheeses now available at the grocery store and in cheese shops, buying cheese can be downright intimidating. But rather than approaching the cheese counter with dread, think of buying cheese as a fun adventure.

Pairing Cheese and Wine

Putting cheese and wine together successfully is a little more challenging than it might seem, although these simple tips will help ensure enjoyable pairings.

Why We Love Cheese

Happy National Cheese Lover's Day! Find out why we love cheese, and how it can be a part of a healthy diet.

Get Custom Cheese Slices

Hot Tips for cooking with cheese from Food Network Kitchens' Katherine Alford: Instead of buying presliced cheese in packages, hit the deli counter to find more interesting cheeses.