vegetarian cheese


Any cheese produced with non-animal coagulants (see rennet). Labels will identify such cheeses as "suitable for vegetarians." The ingredients list may include terms such as "microbial enzyme" or "vegetable rennet," pointing to animal-free production. Vegetarian cheeses are widely available in natural food stores and most supermarkets. See also cheese.

From The Food Lover's Companion, Fourth edition by Sharon Tyler Herbst and Ron Herbst. Copyright © 2007, 2001, 1995, 1990 by Barron's Educational Series, Inc.

Next Up

Vegetarian Diet Basics

There are different types of vegetarians, the strictest being a vegan. Find out about the other types, the basic food groups and combinations that will ensure a well-balanced diet.

A Vegetarian Pantry

Keep your cupboards, freezer and crisper stocked with these essentials.

Vegetarian Casserole Ideas

Winner, winner meatless dinner.

Vegetarian Thanksgiving Menu

Growing up with a vegan chef (my mother), I’ve had the most wonderful vegetarian Thanksgiving experience. Our table would be loaded with the most creative and delicious dishes made from seasonal fruits and veggies, grains, legumes, nuts and seeds. We’ve put together vegetarian (and even some vegan) options for Turkey Day—and you don’t have to be a vegetarian to enjoy them.

Vegetarians: Myths vs. Facts

Vegetarians are often seriously misunderstood. It’s time for some of the most common vegetarian myths to be debunked!

15 Great Vegetarian Pastas

These recipes are all sans meat, poultry and fish but brimming with flavor from veggies, beans, herbs and nuts.

Excellent Vegetarian Sandwich Ideas

Go beyond the meaty fillings.

Famous Vegans and Vegetarians

Mike Tyson, Ellen DeGeneres, Bill Clinton and Pam Anderson have all sworn off meat in their diets.

Related Pages