Guinness Is Going Vegan

Vegetarians and vegans will soon be able enjoy a nice, fish-bladder-free pint of Guinness.

Soon even vegetarians and vegans will be able enjoy a nice pint of Guinness. That’s because the stout will no longer include traces of dried fish bladder.

Perhaps you didn’t know Ireland’s favorite beer featured fish bladder in the first place. Indeed, for 256 years, the stout has been filtered using isinglass, a fish byproduct used by some brewers to accelerate the settling of yeast in beer. Most of the bladder is filtered out in the process, but some residue — “minute quantities,” as Guinness put it — may remain.

However, following recent public outcry, including an online petition that gathered more than 2,000 signatures, the company says it will introduce a new fish-bladder-free filtration system sometime in 2016.

“Whilst isinglass is a very effective means of clarification, and has been used for many years, we expect to stop using it as the new filtration asset is introduced,” a Guinness spokesperson told The Times. “We are conscious that its use may represent a barrier to consumption of our products to some. As part of our ongoing efforts to further improve the way we make our products, we are seeking alternatives to isinglass.”

Once isinglass isn’t in your glass, here are some vegan recipes with which a pint of Guinness might pair swimmingly.

Photo courtesy of iStock
Keep Reading

Next Up

Going Low Carb: Good or Bad?

Many dieters revert back to the "low-carb” Atkins or South Beach plans to lose weight. Certain carbohydrate-rich foods are vital to your good health. Find out if you’re eating the right kinds.

Summer Fest: Going Meatless With Eggplant

The eggplant's hearty and full-bodied texture makes it a perfect substitute for meat and seafood, like in these classic dishes.

Protein: Are We Going Too Far?

Is there such a thing as too much protein? Get the facts.