I Tried the Gluten-Free Ritz Crackers, and They're Pretty Darn Good

The classic cracker just went wheatless.

October 19, 2026

Related To:

We’ve seen a tsunami of dietary-modified nostalgic snacks in the past few years, from protein Pop-tarts and gluten-free Cheez-Its to plant-based Jell-O pudding. There was a while where it seemed like we were reporting about one of these new releases each week. But lately, the water has been unusually still. Now, though, there’s a rumbling underneath the surface: a new release fit for anyone who loves a buttery wheat cracker, sans the wheat. Yep, the rumours are true: You can now buy gluten-free Ritz crackers.

What are the new gluten-free Ritz crackers made out of?

The new crackers are made with cornstarch, yellow corn flour, faba bean protein, tapioca flour and oat flour. They’re also sweetened with invert sugar, while the original version uses high fructose corn syrup. According to the brand, the new crackers are free from artificial colors and flavors (another trend we've seen lately).

My honest review of gluten-free Ritz crackers:

I tried the new gluten-free Ritz crackers side-by-side with the originals (the perks of being able to digest gluten — sorry!). Only a few in the box were broken, which could have been a lot worse given the gluten-free of it all (plus, they were mailed to me). What was actually disappointing, though, is that the new crackers don’t come in Ritz’s signature sleeves.

The gluten-free Ritz are slightly smaller and noticeably crunchier than the OGs. Taste-wise, they’re similar to the original but a little less flavorful: not as buttery and obviously without the wheaty taste. However, this also means they’re not as heavy. Given all these qualities, I found myself reaching for the box of gluten-free Ritz throughout the weekend, while the gluten version sat lonely on my shelf, untouched.

So, will a gluten-free Ritz satisfy a Ritz craving? It depends on how identical you need them to be. I suspect that for most gluten-free snackers, they’ll get the job done. Either way, though, they’re a darn good cracker.

Where can you buy gluten-free Ritz crackers?

The crackers are available at Walmart and Albertsons starting October 19, rolling out to retailers nationwide starting February 2027.

Related content:

Next Up

Taste Test: Gluten-Free Crackers

We tasted your favorite brands of gluten-free crackers and picked our favorites.

Ritz Cracker Sandwiches Are Being Recalled Nationwide

A mislabeling error may be life-threatening to those allergic to peanuts.

I Tried the New Goldfish Protein Crackers — And They're Delicious

The new Goldfish variety will be available beginning in October.

Oreo Goes Gluten-Free

2021 is already looking up.

Taste Test: Gluten-Free Stuffings

We ranked the top gluten-free stuffings out there on nutrition, taste and cost. Find out which one to cook on Thanksgiving for your gluten-free family.  

Taste Test: Gluten-Free Frozen Pizza

Here is a look at five frozen gluten-free pies, find out how they stack up!

How to Make Gluten-Free Latkes

Snag pro tips to keep them crispy and delicious.

Taste Test: Gluten-Free Burger Buns

We rounded up dozens of gluten-free buns, and these bread winners rose to the top.

I Tried Olive Oil Beer, and It Wasn't What I Expected

“Cold Off the Press” is a nonalcoholic collaboration between Graza and Athletic Brewing Company.

I Tried Walgreens’ Viral Peelable Gummy Candy

The mango-shaped gummies with a chewy "skin" are all over TikTok.

On TV

What's New