When measuring flour, we spoon it into a dry measuring cup and level off excess. (Scooping directly from the bag compacts the flour, resulting in dry baked goods.) Not all food coloring and sprinkles are vegan. Look for food coloring that's described as "natural," as that typically means it is derived from plants. Also look for sprinkles with simple ingredients like vegetable oil, cornstarch and soy. Sprinkles made with "confectioners' glaze" are not vegan; this shellac coating is used to glaze sprinkles and other various candies and is derived from sticklac, a resin scraped from the branches of trees left from small insects. Some of our favorite vegan food coloring and sprinkle brands are Fancy Sprinkles, Watkins Food Coloring and Watkins Rainbow Decorating Sugar.