What Is Pectin?

We wouldn't have gummy candy - or jam without it.

October 12, 2021
Slices of toasted bread with orange jam and glass jar for breakfast


Slices of toasted bread with orange jam and glass jar for breakfast

Photo by: Lazy_Bear/Getty Images

Lazy_Bear/Getty Images

By Fraya Berg for Food Network Kitchen

Fraya is a chef and a contributing writer at Food Network.

If this is the first time you’ve tried your hand at preserving fruits, pectin may be new to you. Here you’ll learn where pectin comes from, how to choose the right type of pectin and how to use it.

What Is Pectin? What About Fruit Pectin?

Pectin is a complex starch derived from plants. It's used to gel foods like fruit preserves - jams and jellies - and gummy candy. While there are vegetables that are high in pectin, most pectin sold in grocery stores comes from fruit like citrus peel, and for this reason, it's sometimes labeled as fruit pectin.

You can buy pectin in the supermarket, but sometimes you'll naturally release it from fruit while making jam. For example, when you make marmalade, you'll leach pectin out from orange peels as you slowly simmer it with water and sugar.

"Stirring cut-up peaches, pectin and sugar in a pan while heating to make jam.All images in this series..."


"Stirring cut-up peaches, pectin and sugar in a pan while heating to make jam.All images in this series..."

Photo by: RonBailey/Getty Images

RonBailey/Getty Images

What Is Pectin Used For?

Pectin is most commonly used in jam and jelly-making, particularly with fruit that is low in pectin. You can tell if a fruit is low in pectin if it's squishy: strawberries, for example, are low in pectin, while apples are high in pectin. In addition, ripe fruits are lower in pectin than less ripe fruits.

Pectin is the gelling ingredient in many clear glazes for the beautiful fruit tarts you see in a bakery. Using heated, strained apricot jam or jelly is a good alternative when you want to glaze a tart, because these spreads are high in pectin.

It's also a common ingredient listed on store-bought gummy candies, because it helps the gummies become firm and hold their shape.

Finally, pectin has uses beyond the culinary world. It's added to laxatives and throat lozenges to bolster their fiber. And it’s the glue used to hold the tobacco leaves in cigars.

What Is the Difference Between Pectin and Gelatin?

Pectin and gelatin both have gelling properties. The main difference is that pectin is vegan and vegetable-derived, while gelatin is non-vegan and collagen derived.

Both pectin and gelatin can easily clump. Avoid clumping by whisking them either into dry granulated sugar or cold water before using.

Pectin Powder on a Spoon


Pectin Powder on a Spoon

Photo by: Michelle Lee Photography/Getty Images

Michelle Lee Photography/Getty Images

The Five Types of Pectin

Instant Pectin is very fine powder that doesn’t need heat to activate it. It's commonly used for freezer jam. If you want a fun project with kids with very quick results, this variety of pectin is the way to go.

HM Pectin needs sugar and acid to set and it's the most commonly available type of pectin in the supermarket. Sometimes you won't see HM pectin labeled as such, instead you'll see it labeled as rapid set pectin or slow set pectin. Rapid set pectin is best for jams and preserves with chunky fruits (it sets quickly, suspending the chunks evenly throughout). Slow set pectin is great for clear jellies made from fruit juice.

LM Pectin is used in sugar-free or low-sugar jams and jellies because it can gel without sugar and acid. This variety of pectin is commonly used in commercial food production.

Pectin NH is an apple pectin used for fruit glazes because you can heat it and chill it repeatedly.

Apple Pectin is derived solely from apple peels and cores; this is the variety of pectin that's used for medical purposes.

How to Make Jam Without Pectin

1. Cook the jam low and slow. Because all fruit contains some pectin, cooking fruit with sugar and a bit of lemon juice at a low simmer for a long time will yield jam. The long slow cook will reduce the water content of the fruit and the lemon juice will help draw the naturally occurring pectin out of the fruit.

2. Use underripe, firm fruits. As we discussed, underripe and firm fruits have the highest pectin content. Plums, oranges, currants, gooseberries, quince, apricots and cranberries are at the top of the list for natural pectin.

What Is a Substitute for Pectin?

Cornstarch and gelatin are good gelling agents that could stand in for pectin. Alternatively, adding acid and some citrus peel to a pot of jam will add natural pectin to jam you’re making.

Related Links:

Next Up

How to Preserve Basil

Four ways to keep sweet, fragrant basil around for months. Plus some of our best basil recipes for putting it to work.

Jam vs. Jelly: What’s the Difference?

And what’s the difference between preserves and jam?

How to Make Jam

Here, a step-by-step guide complete with photos — plus answers to all of your jam-related questions.

How to Make Fig Jam

A step-by-step guide to an easy and versatile jam.

How to Clean a Burnt Pot

A scorched pan isn't the end of the world. Here's everything you need to know to get it sparkling again.

13 Things to Know About Shopping at Aldi

Get expert tips on the best days of the week to shop and how to scour the aisles like a pro.

How to Cook Food Over a Campfire

From choosing the right equipment to building the perfect cooking fire, plus outdoor recipes for upping your dining game.

How to Clean an Electric Kettle

A step-by-step guide to keep your kettle in prime condition.

How to Clean 7 Different Kinds of Coffeemakers

Pst, you should be cleaning your coffeemaker every time you use it.

More from:

Cooking School

What's New