This Is All the Halloween Candy You Can Eat If You're Vegan

Herbivores, we've got your back.

October 11, 2018
615726970

615726970

Photo by: mediaphotos/iStock

mediaphotos/iStock

With Halloween just a few weeks away, it’s time to stock up on the sweet stuff. But what do you do if you’re in need of vegan treats? Believe it or not, you’ve most likely already bought vegan candy – and there’s a good chance it’s one of your favorites. Don’t believe us? Check out this list of vegan Halloween candy before you head down the candy aisle. They’re free from animal products and taste-bud approved!

Keep in mind: Price and stock could change after publish date, and we may make money from these links.

That’s right – tasting the rainbow is animal-free! Skittles announced in 2010 that it would no longer be using gelatin, which contains animal products. As a result, these jewel-toned candies are safe for vegetarians and vegans to eat.

No animal products? No problem! Twizzlers are completely vegan, so you don’t need to worry about eating them. You do, however, need to consider how you eat them. We prefer to untwist the candy first, but you do you.

Sour, sweet and totally delicious. Go to town on these little gummies – even the Sour Patch Watermelons are gelatin-free!

Do you prefer to get your sugar fix from chocolate? If so, make sure you grab a bag of Enjoy Life’s dark chocolate or rice milk chocolate minis. They’re certified vegan, allergen-friendly and are available at Whole Foods and CVS. Score!

In addition to being vegan, these little gems are also free of gluten, soy and nuts. Now that’s smart!

If you’re vegan, stock up on these tiny treats. In addition to being gelatin-free, Dots are also clear from carmine color and confectioner’s glaze (both of which are made from insects).

Yup, Airheads are also given the all-clear for vegans and vegetarians. We can’t guarantee what the mystery flavor tastes like, but we can promise that it’s vegan-friendly.

Dum-Dums

Lollipops are a trick-or-treat staple, and for good reason. Dum-Dums don’t contain animal, dairy and egg products, so feel free to snag a handful (or two) this Halloween.

Don’t worry – both the candies and the lollipops are considered to be vegan-friendly. They’re also delicious, so stock up next time you’re in the candy aisle.

Unroll, snack and repeat. Your dentist might not be happy, but your sweet tooth sure will be. Don’t believe us? Just ask Peta.

They may look like fish, but the animal comparisons end there (some Swedish Fish do contain beeswax, though, so check the packaging first.)

Blow pops are a two-in-one treat: they’re lollipops with a bubblegum center, both of which are vegan. Just don’t get them confused with Tootsie Pops – those do contain animal products.

Who says you can’t play with your food? Fun Dip is not only fun (obvi) – it’s also vegan-approved and full of sugary goodness.

This bubblegum is free of gelatin, so chomp and chew to your heart’s content.

Don’t worry if you get these mixed up with Jujubes – those are vegan, too!

Brach’s is a great company for animal-free treats. In addition to these citrusy candies, their root beer barrels, mandarin orange slices and cinnamon hard candy are all vegan, too.

This old-time candy offers something for everyone: they come in orange, cola, cherry, grape and root beer flavors, all of which are vegan. Yum!

The Original Now and Laters are vegan, but watch out for the Chewy and Splits versions – they contain egg whites.

Keep Reading

Next Up

Meet the Trick-Or-Treat King

Food Network Magazine has the scoop on where to get the best Halloween loot!

Candy Man: How to Make Alton Brown's Candy Corn

Alton Brown makes candy corn for Food Network Magazine, step-by-step.

Cupcake Costume

Learn the basics and advanced cooking techniques from Food Network with how-to advice on everything from cooking or carving a turkey to grilling corn.

A Pizza That Looks and Tastes Like a Pumpkin

See how Jeff Mauro creates a too-cute pizza that both looks and tastes like a pumpkin.

Duff's Halloween Tricks and Treats

See his coolest, scariest recipes.

The 22 Days Vegan Diet Plan: Love It or Leaf It?

You can’t deny that JLo’s new body is rocking! She credits her weight loss success to the 22-Day Vegan Diet. The same diet Beyonce and Jay Z popularized by posting food photos on Instagram. But is cutting out all animal products a healthy way to lose weight?

Food News: Chains Offering Vegan Fast-Food Options

Convenience store 7-Eleven is now offering vegan meals, and there are vegan options at Johnny Rockets, PF Changs Pizza Hut and Dairy Queen, too.

Recipe Revamp: Make Any Recipe Vegan or Vegetarian

Here are five easy substitutions you can make to turn any recipe into a vegetarian or vegan one.

The Veggie Table: Foods That Sound Vegan, But Really Aren't

Foods that sound like they be meat and dairy free, like vegetable soup or non-dairy creamer often contain ingredients you're not expecting. Be sure to check labels and ask your server at restaurants what foods contain, especially for the foods on this list.

Simple Recipes for Joy: Chatting with Jivamukti's Sharon Gannon

Jivamukti's founder Sharon Gannon is out with Simple Recipes for Joy, a new cookbook that offers soul-satisfying vegan recipes to make at home.