What Is Tamari?

Everything you need to know about soy sauce’s gluten-free cousin.

June 16, 2022
Pouring Soy Sauce into bowl


Pouring Soy Sauce into bowl

Photo by: ffolas/Getty Images

ffolas/Getty Images

By Layla Khoury-Hanold for Food Network Kitchen

Layla Khoury-Hanold is a contributor at Food Network.

Have you ever reached for a bottle of soy sauce at your local grocery store and noticed a similar bottle labelled “tamari”? What exactly is tamari? And what’s in it? We consulted Pascale Yamashita, a recipe developer, food stylist, food photographer and avid food lover based in Japan.

What Is Tamari?

Tamari is a Japanese sauce made from fermented soybeans that originated as a by-product of miso. Yamashita describes tamari as the darkest form of Japanese soy sauce. She also offers a short history lesson: During the Kamakura period (1192 to 1333), China passed down its soy-based condiment making technique; this led to making miso and tamari in Japan. Until the Edo period (1603 to 1867), tamari was synonymous with soy sauce. Tamari is typically made in Japan’s Mie, Aichi and Gifu prefectures and in the Kyushu area.

Soy sauce and chopsticks on red background.


Soy sauce and chopsticks on red background.

Photo by: akurashashin/Getty Images

akurashashin/Getty Images

What Is In Tamari?

Tamari is made from soybeans, water, salt and koji (fermented rice). It is the liquid that is collected from miso (a soybean paste) as it ages. In Japan, tamari is also known as miso tamari.

Soy Sauce vs. Tamari

Both soy sauce and tamari are fermented sauces made from soybeans. The main difference is that soy sauce is made from soy and wheat and tamari is made only with soy, making it vegan and gluten-free (though be sure to double check labels since some manufacturers add wheat).

Tamari typically takes longer to make than soy sauce. Because tamari ferments for one year or longer, tamari is darker in color. The lengthy fermentation process allows the soy and salt to become well blended, resulting in a smoother taste and deeper umami (which translates to “the essence of deliciousness” in Japanese and is defined by a profound savory or meaty flavor). In Japan, it’s said that tamari has twice the umami flavor of soy sauce. Tamari is also thicker, as it requires 50 to 80 percent less water to make than dark soy sauce.

There are many different types of Japanese soy sauces which are categorized into five types ranging from light to dark, and further defined by the length of fermentation and the types of ingredients used. The lighter kinds of soy sauce contain 50 percent soy and 50 percent wheat; the high wheat content imparts a sweet fragrance to the flavor profile. (In Japan, what’s typically enjoyed as a regular soy sauce is dark soy sauce.) Although tamari’s darker color might suggest that it tastes saltier than soy sauce, tamari is no saltier than dark soy sauce; light soy sauce is actually the saltiest.

Bowl of soy sauce with chopsticks on table


Bowl of soy sauce with chopsticks on table

Photo by: Bill Oxford/Getty Images

Bill Oxford/Getty Images

How to Use Tamari

Tamari has a rich umami flavor and a subtle sweetness. Tamari can be used in any recipe calling for soy sauce where you want to impart a rich flavor with less saltiness. In Japan, tamari is used as dipping sauce for tofu or sashimi, in soy-sauce-based cooking and as a marinade in teriyaki recipes. Fatty pork dishes are often cooked with tamari to develop an extra rich flavor. Many Japanese cooks suggest mixing tamari into soy sauce when cooking to deepen the flavor. Try using tamari to bring a deeply savory quality to dipping sauces, marinades, dressings, stir-fries, sauces, noodle dishes and soups. For your next party trick, make candied nuts by tossing nuts in a mixture of tamari and sugar before roasting (take things spicy by adding chili paste or red pepper flakes).

Substitutes for Tamari

A simple substitute for tamari is dark soy sauce. If you’re using a lighter soy sauce, which tends to be saltier, start with ¾ of the full amount. For a more sophisticated swap, Yamashita recommends boiling 2 parts dark soy sauce, 1 part mirin and ½ part rock sugar.

Related Links:

Next Up

Tamari vs. Soy Sauce: What's the Difference?

Learn the differences and when to use each one.

What Is Mirin?

And how to cook with it.

What Is Sashimi?

And what’s the best way to eat it?

Sashimi Versus Nigiri: Understanding the Differences

They’re both made with raw fish, but the similarities stop there.

What Is Panko?

And how it different than regular breadcrumbs?

Sashimi Vs Sushi

Two Japanese cuisine experts break down the differences.

What Is MSG? A Deep Dive Into What It Is, How to Use It and Misconceptions

As its flavor sits on your tongue, it grows and blossoms. It looks like snowflakes. Learn more about this magical ingredient from an expert in Chinese cuisine.

What Is Hoisin Sauce?

A Chinese cooking expert shares everything you need to know about this staple condiment.

What Is Kewpie Mayo?

An expert on Japanese cuisine explains why this condiment is so darn flavorful.

What Is Miso?

This versatile flavor powerhouse goes way beyond soup.

More from:

Cooking School

What's New