hard-shell clam

One of the two varieties of clam, the other being soft-shell clam. On the East Coast, hard-shell clams, also called by their Indian name, quahog, come in three sizes. The smallest are littleneck clams, which have a shell diameter less than 2 inches. Next comes the medium-size cherrystone clam, about 2½ inches across. The largest of this trio is the chowder clam, (also simply called large clam,) with a shell diameter of at least 3 inches. Among the West Coast hard-shell varieties are the Pacific littleneck clam, the butter clams from the Puget Sound. See also clam.

From The Food Lover's Companion, Fourth edition by Sharon Tyler Herbst and Ron Herbst. Copyright © 2007, 2001, 1995, 1990 by Barron's Educational Series, Inc.

Keep Reading

Next Up

Perfect Hard-Boiled Eggs

Melissa shares her secrets and recipes.

Market Watch: Shell Beans

Also known as “cranberry” beans, these red and beige beauties are all over my market right now. They made an unusual addition to my summer succotash.

Yes, Millennials Really Are Hard to Please

Guess which generation is the hardest to please when it comes to food? Yep, millennials.

Hard-Boiled Eggs 5 Ways

Got leftover Easter eggs? We’ve got 5 ways to use ‘em up.

How to Make Hard-Boiled Eggs in the Oven

"Hard-boiling" eggs in the oven is perfect for making large batches of eggs, and it offers consistent results with little fuss or attention required.

A Guide for Buying and Cooking Clams

A guide to buying and preparing clams.

California Salad with Hard-Boiled Eggs — Meatless Monday

Upgrade your usual salad routine with this satisfying recipe from Food Network Magazine.